Militaria Forum | Militaria Blog | about | policies | help | contact | links | fees & prices | My Account | Post For Sale Ad | Post Want Ad | Post Auction


 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Somethings not right with this!

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Militaria Forum Forum Index -> Speaker's Corner
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jock21



Joined: 19 Jul 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 1:13 am    Post subject: Somethings not right with this! Reply with quote

Christine Masseur in France is offering some SS insignia on this web site. F5562, F5563. I looked at the pics and thought they looked familiar. If you take a look at: www.military-antiques-stockholm.com you will see the exact same items offered by someone in Sweden. What's going on? Is this person in two places at once? I think caution is in order.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dave



Joined: 14 Mar 2008
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 1:42 am    Post subject: SS Reply with quote

Hello It is the same tab for sure.I know I seen it some were else today to .But I cant find it know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Combat Relics



Joined: 14 Jul 2007
Posts: 161

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 3:02 pm    Post subject: Beware the French RIP OFF ARTIST Reply with quote

There is no doubt that exact these things are on Peter's militaria website, he has a very good reputation, and I am certain he owns the items pictured on his website. He is established and has a track record of doing what he does.

I conclude that this attempt at ripping off site members, is by the same person from a month back who posed as 'Dominique Tricoire' and had things at 'too good to be true' Prices.

If the seller is a 'NEW GUY' and only has a few bargain priced items, a red flag...especially if he is not in the USA. (for USA buyers)

I usually ask a lot of questions which require the seller to originate an answer. You will get a feeling if the guy collects or not.

When a seller cannot answer intelligently about the items they are offering, they often do not have the knowledge needed. Anyone selling things like this, should be able to converse, and also would be willing to discuss. Most con artists do not, they just want to get it done, get your money.

I ask for a detailed description of some aspect of the item. I often ask for specific photos of some aspect not likely to be shown in a typical picture. If he cannot take more pics, I don't buy.

In casual chit chat, mention you have an interesting job investigating international internet fraud at the US Justice Department, and are a collector for 24 years, and watch how fast a fraudster disappears.
A real seller would say 'That must be interesting work' The perp will run like a scalded dog...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bob Treend
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Jul 2007
Posts: 92

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I took this tip from Jock21 and checked it out. I sent the seller an email telling him about the question of his actually having the items offered and told him I wanted to verify he did have them. I asked him to send me a picture of the eagle with his finger over the swastika....that way I would know he had the eagle. I got a reply in which he laughed off my request. I smelled a rat.

In an effort to keep our members from being had by a con-man, I have removed his ads and cancelled his membership. I take this very seriously and when I ask for proof that someone is on the up-and-up I don't take their dodging the request lightly. If he was legit it would have only taken him 5 minutes to snap a pic and email it to me. Then all would have been well.

Again, and I hate to do this, I want to warn our members that there seems to be a con-man working out of France. He keep signing up on our site with different names and email address and offering items at very good prices. That's his hook. I recomment that all members be very careful and vertify the legitimacy of anyone in France.... or anywhere else for that matter, before sending off your hard earned money. I'll do my best to watch for him, but I can't catch everything. Look out for yourself!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Militaria Forum Forum Index -> Speaker's Corner All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


DISCLAIMER German Militaria Collectibles exists for the purpose of bringing serious collectors together so they can buy, sell and trade items. The items found here are collected for their historical and artistic interest only. We do not in any way endorse or support the ideals represented by the collectables offered.

home - about - blog - policies - help - contact - links - add your link   |   member login - new member registration
my account - post for sale ad - post want ad - post auction


copyright © 2006 German Militaria Collectibles. All Rights Reserved.

 
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group